Thinking of José..

6261564516_05eb2a7c56_z Today Chris Rayan at IMPACT magazine and I traded emails. He’s reading “Let No Stranger Wait Outside Your Door” so he can review it for the magazine. Here is a part of my reply to him:

“… and I’m so glad you are enjoying the book. It was a labor of love from the first paragraph and a tiny little something I can leave behind for my gay brothers and sisters that will enable future generations to touch base with their past and maybe, in the process, shed a smile or tear for those who came before them. My friends were just too wonderful to let disappear into nothingness just because they didn’t live long enough to leave their own legacies.

Jose’ Sarria is just one of the people I wrote about.  Like Bill and I, Jose’ managed to outlive most of our friends.  Now in his 90’s he lives in New Mexico and is being taken care of by a faithful friend, Tony as he experiences the hospice phase of his life.  Jose’ is a San Francisco treasure and a huge part of LGBT history in that city. In another post I’ll tell his story, but today I’m thinking of him, sending love and proud that he helped make “Let No Stranger Wait Outside Your Door” accurate by keeping me on track and allowing me to tell a little bit about his life and efforts on behalf of all of us.

One thought on “Thinking of José..

  1. Hi Lou! Good-lookiing blog! You are absolutely right about leaving something that tells how it was – the collective human memory is a strange beast, and what it was like in England in the seventies and eighties is already being forgotten or re-written. Society spent those decades trying to erase me, and now it’s erasing my history too with indifference.

    I think maybe you have reminded me that I ought to put my persepective to paper as well. Things like a middle-aged female colleague in the office giving me a kiss on the cheek at my desk – and then seriously and loudly asking everyone in the office, including formally asking the boss, whether she should have an “AIDS test”. The brilliant organisations like CHE who were just there for people, the wholly-innocent quite vanilla clubs that were utterly unmarked from the outside (and fantastic on the inside), the great people as well as the more negative. It’s important that it’s not all lost into the comfortable indifference of the new homogeneity.

Leave a Reply

